For direct access use https://forums.oldunreal.com
It's been quite a while since oldunreal had an overhaul, but we are moving to another server which require some updates and changes. The biggest change is the migration of our old reliable YaBB forum to phpBB. This system expects you to login with your username and old password known from YaBB.
If you experience any problems there is also the usual "password forgotten" function. Don't forget to clear your browser cache!
If you have any further concerns feel free to contact me: Smirftsch@oldunreal.com

[WIP] Concept for my Unreal Engine 1 Rendering Ambitions.

Questions, Tips&Tricks for the special patches
han
Global Moderator

[WIP] Concept for my Unreal Engine 1 Rendering Ambitions.

Post by han »

Goals
n/a

Key Issues
n/a

OpenGL Requirements
n/a

Folklore
I've been working on rendering for about two years. It started after I build headers for Nerf Arena Blast. At that point assuming that someone would pick up the headers and continue developing/building render devices for that game. Basically I used the ut432pubsrc D3DDrv and the ut436-opengldrv-src-090602 for getting the headers rights for the rendering part.

Afterwards I did also build utglr/utd3d and d3d10drv. utglr/utd3d clipped of parts of the weapon model, d3d10drv, after beeing a pain in the ass to build worked fine despite the known Nvidia issues. The D3DDrv and the ut436-opengldrv-src-090602 on the other hand performed fairly well. D3DDrv's rendering was correct, though it didn't support really high resolution textures and increasing the define for the maximum supported texture resolution has some rather low limits. It also didn't support DXT1. The ut436-opengldrv-src-090602 on the other hand supported DXT1, performed nice and just had minor masking issues with precaching on for some textures. I sticked to these two sources first, but dropping D3DDrv at some point later on.