For direct access use https://forums.oldunreal.com
It's been quite a while since oldunreal had an overhaul, but we are moving to another server which require some updates and changes. The biggest change is the migration of our old reliable YaBB forum to phpBB. This system expects you to login with your username and old password known from YaBB.
If you experience any problems there is also the usual "password forgotten" function. Don't forget to clear your browser cache!
If you have any further concerns feel free to contact me: Smirftsch@oldunreal.com

Unreal sensative to TOO much RAM? Details...

Hardware & Driver related problems
-TJ

Unreal sensative to TOO much RAM? Details...

Post by -TJ »

I started playing the single player Unreal 1 again because back in 1999, I never finished it.

I put together a new PC and got the game going with this hardware:
AMD Athlon 1.5Mhz processor
MSI KT3 Ultra 2 mainboard
MSI/Nvidia G-force 4 Ti video
256K PC2700 DDR RAM
No add on sound, the mainboard has it built in.

Anyway, as I said, I got the game going with the video configured for Direct3d and all was well. The gameplay is smooth, fast, looks great, couldn't ask for more.

I then added another 256K PC2700 DDR RAM and now when launching, the game goes to a black screen after the Unreal logo dissapears during the launch. I verified that the additional 256K RAM is the problem by playing musical RAM:
1. I pulled out one DDR (leaving only 256K) and launched the game - no problem.
2. I swapped the RAM modules (still only 256K, just the other unit) and launched the game - no problem.
3. With both 256K RAM units in place, situated either way in slots 1 & 2, the game goes to black screen.

So, in conclusion, the only way I can play it now is to run only 256K in the PC.

Weird....any insight, ideas, comments? BTW, other games I've got run fine with both 256K units in place - Return to CW and Deus EX...
TCP_Wolf
Administrator

Re: Unreal sensative to TOO much RAM? Details...